Print Page   |   Join GNA
News: News

Call to Action: Support Nursing Related Bills Currently in the Georgia Legislature

Monday, March 12, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Charlotte Baez-Diaz
Share |

 

As we enter the home stretch of the 2018 Legislative Session, we have several bills that have hit a stall in the process towards final passage.

 

SB 334 , known as the Board of Nursing bill, will allow the board to more fully execute its duty to protect the public by moving the board out from under the Secretary of State's office and under the purview of the Department of Community Health, like every other healthcare profession in our state.

 

SB 351, known as the APRN bill, will improve healthcare access across the state by allowing a physician to supervise up to 8 APRNs (thereby increasing the number of providers in rural communities) and by eliminating patient care wait times and inefficiencies in the ordering or radiologic testing. GA is the ONLY state that restricts APRNs from ordering radiology testing.

 

SB 434, will include nursing workforce data as part of the scope of the Georgia Physician Workforce Board. Because of the vital role of nursing in healthcare, the state needs state wide workforce data. Incorporating into this board allows all healthcare worker data to be in one central location in GA.

 

All three of these bills were introduced by Senator Renee Unterman. After successfully passing the Senate, the bills are in the House Health and Human Services Committee Chaired by Representative Sharon Cooper.

 

We need your help to move SB 334, 351 and 434 in the House.

 

Call To Action! Please call members of the House Health and Human Services committee, especially the top four listed below, expressing your support for SB 334, SB 351 and SB 434.

 

The message is simple: "I support SB 334, 351 and 434 and would like to ask for your favorable consideration on each of these bills as they will allow the nursing profession in our state to progress and will work increase access to care in the places that need it most."

 

Please leave your name, adding you are a nurse or have other affiliation with healthcare in the state. If you are a constituent, please add that information. 

 

House Health and Human Services Committee:

 

Lee Hawkins, Vice Chairman

lee.hawkins@house.ga.gov

404.656.0213

 

Ed Rynders, Secretary

ed.rynders@house.ga.gov

404.656.6801

 

Jodi Lott (Registered Nurse)

jodi.lott@house.ga.gov

404.656.0178

 

Timothy Barr

timothy.barr@house.ga.gov

404.656.0298

 

Karen Bennett

karen.bennett@house.ga.gov

404.656.0202

 

James Beverly

james.beverly@house.ga.gov

404.656.0220

 

Katie M. Dempsey

katie.dempsey@house.ga.gov

404.463.2248

 

Demetrius Douglas

demetrius.douglas@house.ga.gov

404.656.7859

 

Karla Drenner

karla.drenner@house.ga.gov

404.656.0202

 

Spencer Frye

spencer.frye@house.ga.gov

404.656.0265

 

J. Craig Gordon

craig.gordon@house.ga.gov

404.656.0287

 

Matt Hatchett

matt.hatchett@house.ga.gov

404.656.5025

 

Michele Henson

michele.henson@house.ga.gov

404.656.7859

 

Scott Hilton

scott.hilton@house.ga.gov

404.656.0202

 

Henry "Wayne" Howard

wayne.howard@house.ga.gov

404.656.6372

 

Rick Jasperse

rick.jasperse@house.ga.gov

404.656.7857

 

Sheila Jones

sheila.jones@house.ga.gov

404.656.0126

 

Trey Kelley

trey.kelley@house.ga.gov

404.657.1803

 

John LaHood

john.lahood@house.ga.gov

404.656.0177

 

Karen Mathiak

karen.mathiak@house.ga.gov

404.656.0287

 

Billy Mitchell

billy.mitchell@house.ga.gov

404.656.0126

 

Howard Mosby

howard.mosby@house.ga.gov

404.656.0287

 

Mark Newton

mark.newton@house.ga.gov

404.656.0325

 

Don Parsons

don.parsons@house.ga.gov

404.656.7853

 

Allen Peake

allen.peake@house.ga.gov

404.656.5132

 

Jesse Petrea

jesse.petrea@house.ga.gov

404.657.1803

 

John Pezoid

john.pezold@house.ga.gov

404.656.0188

 

Betty Price

betty.price@house.ga.gov

404.656.0202

 

Jimmy Pruett

jimmy.pruett@house.ga.gov

404.656.7855

 

Kim Schofield

kim.schofield@house.ga.gov

404.656.0020

 

Dexter Sharper

dexter.sharper@house.ga.gov

404.656.0126

 

Deborah Silcox

deborah.silcox@house.ga.gov

404.656.0109

 

Mickey Stephens

mickey.stephens@house.ga.gov

404.656.0265

 

Pam Stephenson

pamela.stephenson@house.ga.gov

404.656.0126

 

Please share this information with your professional colleagues and ask that they take the time to show their support for the nursing profession as soon as possible.

 

For questions or inquiries, contact Interim Director of Operations Tim Davis at Tim.Davis@georgianurses.org. 

 


FIND US

3032 Briarcliff Road
Atlanta, GA., 30329-2655

CONTACT US

P: (404) 325-5536
F: (404) 325-0407

Office Hours: 

M-F, 9:00AM- 4:30PM

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal